Rideshare services like Uber and Lyft help ease commuting difficulties here in Richardson, TX. As convenient as rideshare services may be, however, ridesharing does not always equate to a safe trip. Drivers can still have lapses in judgment and cause vehicular accidents.
You have the right to pursue damages from the rideshare driver or their company if you were hurt in an accident. Before taking any legal action, consider speaking to a Richardson rideshare accident lawyer from Underwood Law Office regarding your situation. We can review the details of the incident and advise you on your options.
Our Rideshare Accident Attorneys Can Help You Recover Damages
Under Texas Insurance Code § 1954.051, rideshare drivers must have liability insurance to operate legally in Richardson. If they cause an accident, victims can file a claim with the driver’s auto liability insurer to recover damages such as:
- Medical expenses like hospital bills, medications, tests, and more
- Car repairs if you were another motorist and not a rideshare passenger
- Wages lost while you’re unable to work
- Mental trauma
- Disfigurements and disabilities
- Pain and suffering
Our Richardson personal injury lawyer can help with the claim filing process by:
- Collecting proof of the driver’s fault in the collision and the damages you suffered, such as dashboard camera videos, photographs, and medical records
- Estimating your case value by compiling your expenses and assessing your injury’s severity
- Negotiating with the insurance claims adjuster if you disagree with their initial offer
For a free legal consultation with a rideshare accidents lawyer serving Richardson, call (972) 535-6377
How Liability Coverage Works in Richardson Rideshare Collisions
Depending on whether or not the rideshare driver was on-duty at the time of the crash, you will either file a claim through the rideshare driver’s personal insurance or the insurance the rideshare company provides while their drivers are working.
Here’s how liability coverage works in the case of a rideshare accident:
The Rideshare Driver Is Logged on the App
If the driver is online at the time of the wreck, the rideshare company’s insurance policy will provide coverage if they cause an accident. The mandatory limits in Texas Insurance Code § 1954.052 apply to the driver when they are logged on but do not have any rides yet:
- $50,000 liability for bodily injuries or death per person
- $100,000 liability for injuries or deaths per accident
- $25,000 liability for property damages per accident
If the driver had passengers during the crash, the limits per Texas Insurance Code § 1954.053 must cover up to $1,000,000 instead.
The Rideshare Driver Is Logged Off
If the Richardson rideshare driver was not on the app when they caused the accident, victims must file a claim with the rideshare driver’s personal auto insurance provider. Texas’ rideshare laws consider drivers off-duty when they are not logged on the rideshare app.
Richardson Rideshare Accident Lawyer Near Me (972) 535-6377
When To Take Rideshare Accident Lawsuits Into Consideration
In certain circumstances, the rideshare driver might not have enough coverage to compensate for all your damages. Your Richardson rideshare accident lawyer can review the situation and advise you on whether filing a lawsuit is a more feasible option.
When you file a rideshare accident lawsuit, you will not be dealing with an insurance claims adjuster. Instead, the civil court will review the case and determine whether you are eligible for damages.
They will also decide how much you can recover. It may be some time before you can get a verdict as lawsuits can take several court proceedings to conclude. However, a Richardson rideshare accident lawyer from our firm can counsel you and speak on your behalf for the duration of your case.
You Must File Your Lawsuit on Time
Similar to other Texas collision actions, your Richardson rideshare accident also has a two-year statute of limitations, outlined in Texas Civil Practice and Remedies Code § 16.003. That means you must file your lawsuit within two years. Missing the deadline could mean you miss your chance to recover compensation through a lawsuit.
You may also choose to file a wrongful death lawsuit if your loved one passed away because of a rideshare accident. In this case, you will have two years from the date of the accident to file a wrongful death lawsuit.
Your attorney will track your case’s progress to ensure that you file within the mandatory deadline. If your case goes to court, we will defend you and gather evidence to support your claims.
Shared Fault Can Reduce or Bar Recovery
Keep in mind that winning your Richardson rideshare accident settlement does not mean you can receive all the damages owed to you. Texas injury cases, including yours, follow comparative negligence laws. Therefore, if you are partly responsible for the rideshare accident, your damages will get deducted based on your shared fault percentage.
For instance, suppose the court finds you 20 percent liable for exceeding the speed limit. That means the rideshare company, the driver, or any other at-fault party owes you 70 percent of the total value of your damages. If you are found over 50 percent responsible for the accident, you may not recover any of your damages, according to Texas Civil Practice and Remedies Code § 33.001.
A Richardson rideshare accident lawyer from Underwood Law Office can review all the details of your case to make sure our evidence sufficiently supports your case. This would help reduce the risk of the other party trying to place more blame on you.
Complete a Free Case Evaluation form now
Our Legal Team Is Ready to Help Your Rideshare Accident Case
Victims of rideshare accidents here in Richardson can always approach Underwood Law Office for legal assistance. We have 25 years of experience in various Texas personal injury law practice areas, including rideshare collisions. Our team can put our knowledge and resources to use and help you resolve your dispute.
A member of our team can review the details of your case during a free consultation. Call us 24/7 to get started.